How to Use Trash in Infinity

In Infinity, it’s possible to send all folders, items, and attributes to Trash once you no longer have any use for them. This means that if you are e.g. done with a certain project or a task, you can easily remove it from your board—either temporarily or completely.

To access Trash, you’ll first have to make sure that you have one of the necessary permissions: “Delete Board” or “Delete Folder”.

Next, click on the Trash button in the top left corner of your board, right next to the Activity Log.

trash

In the modal that pops up on your screen, you will see three sections: Folders, Items, and Attributes. When you delete one of these three from your board, they will be sorted into the corresponding sections. You can also search for specific items, folders, or attributes with the help of the search bar.

When deleted, folders, items and attributes can either be restored or deleted for good from Trash. When deleted from Trash, you won’t be able to restore your items, folders, or attributes again. They will be deleted permanently.

{primary} NOTE: Items, attributes, and folders in Trash don’t take up your storage space.

How to Send Folders to Trash

When deleted, a folder will automatically appear in the Folders section of Trash.

By hovering over the deleted folder, you will see the options to restore it and permanently delete it. This is also where you can see exactly when the folder was first deleted.

trash-folders

Next to the folder name, you will see the number of items that were in the folder at the moment it was deleted.

When you delete a folder, all the items will be deleted along with it and will appear in the Items section of Trash. If you delete a folder for good, the items that were previously in it will also be permanently deleted.

If you delete or decide to permanently delete a parent folder, you will get to decide what you want to do with the subfolders in the pop-up window. If you tick the “Delete with subfolders option”, they will be permanently deleted, as well. If you don’t tick this option, they will remain in Trash until you restore them. Once restored, they will appear at the top of the folder tree.

If you decide to restore a parent folder, it will always be restored to the root of the folder tree.

{primary} NOTE: In order to be able to delete a folder from Trash, you will need the “Delete Folder” permission. If you decide to use the “Delete All Folders” option and remove all folders from Trash, you will need the “Delete Board” permission.

How to Send Items to Trash

When deleted, an item will automatically appear in the Items section of Trash.

If you hover over the item you deleted, you will see the options to restore it and permanently delete it. You will also be able to see the exact time when the item was deleted.

trash-items

If you decide to restore an item from a deleted folder, the item will be restored to a new folder called “Restored Items + Today’s Date”. This folder will appear at the root folder level.

In case the parent folder hasn’t been deleted, the item will be restored to its original position. If you permanently delete a parent folder from Trash, the items in it will also be deleted.

{primary} NOTE: In order to be able to delete an item from Trash, you will need the “Delete Item” permission. If you decide to use the “Delete All Items” option and remove all items found in Trash, you will need the “Delete Board” permission.

How to Send Attributes to Trash

When deleted, an attribute will appear in the Attributes section of Trash.

By hovering over the attribute you deleted, you will see the options to restore it and permanently delete it. This is also where you can see the time when the attribute was deleted.

trash-attributes

Keep in mind that attributes can be deleted only when you delete them on the board level—not just a single folder.

If you decide to restore an attribute, it will be restored to all the folders and items in your board i.e. to the entire board. However, in order for that attribute to reappear on restored items and folders, you’ll have to restore the attribute separately.

{primary} NOTE: In order to be able to delete an attribute from Trash, as well as use the “Delete All Attributes” option and delete all attributes from Trash, you will need to have the “Save Attribute” permission.