Anyone who signs up for an Infinity account starts off their journey with a workspace, which they get to set up during the onboarding process.
So, what is a workspace?
A workspace is the highest-level unit of Infinity that encompasses all the projects you want to organize and all the information related to those projects. A workspace consists of boards.
It's important to remember that all of our plans come with one workspace only. In order to get more, you will need to purchase a new plan. You can check out our pricing plans here.
So, how do you use your workspace?
For example, if you’re a company owner, your workspace can be the name of your company, and the boards inside that workspace can be your company’s departments.
Or, if you’re a freelancer, a workspace can include all your freelance work. And within that workspace, you will have different boards for different clients or projects.
First and foremost, you will want to fill your workspace with boards. Add new boards by clicking the gray button with a plus sign that will always be placed right after the last board you created.
Read more about creating a board in the Boards section.
You can further customize your workspace by clicking the little arrow next to your workspace's name. Once you click the arrow, five new options will appear: Settings, Members, Boards, Billing, and White Label.
Note that you will see all options only if you're the owner of the workspace.
By clicking on 'Settings', you will be taken to a window with your workspace details. This is also where you can delete a workspace if you ever decide to do that.
By clicking on ‘Boards’, you will get an overview of all your boards and an option to create a new one.
The ‘Members’ section is where you will get an overview of all the members that are collaborating in this workspace. You will also be able to add new members to the team by typing their email address and assigning a role to them, as well as deciding which boards you want to add your team members to.
In ‘Billing’ you will be able to see the plan you’re on and when your next payment is.
While you’re browsing one of these sections, you will also notice another section called ‘Permissions’ in the left sidebar. This is where you can customize your team members’ roles and what you want them to be able to do within a workspace or across different boards.
As we already mentioned, as the owner of the workspace, you get to delete it anytime you want by going to Preferences under the name of the workspace in question.
Keep in mind that, once deleted, a workspace can't be restored.
If you're not the owner of a workspace, you won't be able to delete it, but what you can always do is leave that workspace.
If you head over to the 'Workspaces' section in the left sidebar, you'll get a list of all the workspaces are a part of.
Next to the one you created, you'll see the standard cogwheel which will take you to 'Preferences'.
Next to those you've been invited to, you'll see a button which will allow you to leave a certain workspace.
When you leave a workspace, keep in mind that all the data you created, including boards, items, comments, etc. will still remain in that workspace until the owner decides to delete it.
Now that you’ve created and customized your workspace, it’s time to start organizing. Create your first boards and let’s get started!